Aboriginal Members Committee

History of the Aboriginal Members Committee

In January 1989 there was a proposal to Senior Officers regarding the establishment of the Aboriginal Members Committee (to meet 4 times a year on Friday before Council).

It was endorsed in principle, and Tony Amatto sent a letter out to all Aboriginal Members that gained 20 responses of interest, which was a high proportion of Aboriginal members at the time.

The following representatives were selected for the 1989 committee:

  •  2 Infants/Primary members
  •  2 secondary
  •  2 TAFE and
  •  1 Higher Education members (plus the right to co-opt and additional Higher Ed member in the future)

This structure continued to evolve in following years.
The committee operated on this interim basis until 1993 when it was officially established with members being voted in for 2 years.

Current Members (2015-2017)

Narelle Hill


Country Infants 

Shane Wall

  City Infants   

Raelene Mordecai

  Country Primary  

Phyllis Bird

  City Primary

Belinda Ndegwa

  Country Secondary 

Greg Edwards

  City Secondary

Ian Geyer

  Central Schools    

Janelle Ridgeway

Goulburn Correctional Complex Corrective Services


Share this