Election Notice: Branch General and Deputy Secretaries Election

Australian Education Union New South Wales Teachers Federation Branch ELECTION NOTICE E2018/71

Nominations are called for the following offices:

  • General Secretary
  • Deputy Secretary (Schools)
  • Deputy Secretary (Communications and Administration)
  • Deputy Secretary (Post Schools)
  • Deputy Secretary (Research, Industrial and Professional Support)

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the organisation, may be made at any time from Tuesday 26 June 2018. They must reach me via the lodgement methods stipulated below not later than 12 Noon (AEST) on Wednesday 1 August 2018.

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12 Noon (AEST) on Wednesday 8 August 2018. Such withdrawal must be by notice in writing to the Returning Officer signed by the nominee and submitted by hand, post or facsimile or any other electronic means.

Nomination forms are available from me or the office of the Organisation. Nomination forms are also available on the organisation’s website.

Candidates may submit a statement and a passport sized photograph which will be provided to eligible voters on the day of the election prior to the conduct of the election. Only statements and photographs which comply with the Rules and are received by Chris Cox Returning Officer no later than 12 Noon (AEST) 6 August 2018 will be published. Candidate statements are restricted to a maximum of 400 words and sent as a word doc. Passport sized photographs should be sent as a jpeg doc. To assist candidates, a standard “Candidate Statement Form” is available for use at www.aec.gov.au


By Post: Returning Officer, Australian Electoral Commission, PO Box 496 Haymarket 1240
By Hand: Australian Electoral Commission, Level 10, 59 Goulburn St, Haymarket NSW 2000
By Fax: 02 6215 9910
By Email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to [email protected]. PLEASE NOTE: Emails to the AEC emailbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC emailbox before the deadline for nominations. You may call the contact number provided to check.

Note: that emails greater than 6 MB size may not be accepted by the AEC’s firewall.

Ballot: If a ballot is necessary, it will be conducted at the Branch Council meeting on Saturday 11 August 2018 at the NSW Teachers Federation Conference Centre Auditorium, 37 Reservoir St, Surry Hills NSW 2010.

Proxy voting: Those delegates who may not be able to attend the Branch Council meeting are able to nominate a proxy. Proxy Forms should be lodged with the Returning Officer before the ballot opens. A Proxy form is also enclosed with this notice.

Changed Address? Advise the organisation now.

Note: A copy of the AEC’s election report can be obtained from the organisation or from me after the completion of the election.

Chris Cox
Returning Officer Phone: (02) 9375 6301