Election Notice: Election Branch Executive – E2018/182

Nominations are called for the following offices:

  • Branch Vice Presidents (4)
  • Branch Custodians (2)
  • Representative of members on the ATSI Members’ Roll (1)
  • Association Representatives (8)

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the organisation, may be made at any time from Friday 23 November 2018. They must reach me via the lodgement methods stipulated below not later than 12 Noon (AEDT) on Wednesday 6 February 2019

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12 Noon (AEDT) on Wednesday 13 February 2019. Such withdrawal must be by notice in writing to the Returning Officer signed by the nominee and submitted by hand, post or facsimile or any other electronic means.

Nomination forms are available from me or the office of the Union. Nomination forms are also available on the organisation’s website.

Candidates may submit a statement which will be provided to eligible voters on the day of the election prior to the conduct of the election. Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by Chris Cox Returning Officer no later than 12 Noon (AEDT) 11/02/2019 will be published. Candidate statements are restricted to a maximum of 400 words and sent as a word doc. Passport sized photographs should be sent as a jpeg doc. To assist candidates, a standard “Candidate Statement Form” is available for use at www.aec.gov.au

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s):

By Post: Chris Cox, Returning Officer, AEC, PO BOX 496 HAYMARKET NSW 1240
By Hand: Returning Officer, AEC, Level 10 59 Goulburn Street Haymarket NSW 2000 By Fax: 02 6215 9910
By Email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted to [email protected]


  1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.
  2. In order to be able to be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
  3. You may call 02 9375 6301 to enquire about the status of your nomination.

Voting Period

Ballot: If a ballot is necessary, it will be conducted at the Branch Council meeting on Saturday 16 February 2019 at the NSW Teachers Federation Conference Centre Auditorium, 37 Reservoir St, Surry Hills NSW 2010.

Proxy voting: Those delegates who may not be able to attend the Branch Council meeting are able to nominate a proxy. Proxy forms should be lodged with the Returning Officer before the ballot opens. A proxy form is also enclosed with this notice.


The appointment of scrutineers opens 23/11/2018 and closes before the commencement of
counting of the ballot at the meeting. A form is available from the Returning Officer for the
purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

Other Information

Changed Address? Advise the Union now.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC’s election report can be obtained from the Union or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Nomination form

Chris Cox
Returning Officer
Telephone: 02 9375 6301